Free Academic Resources for Disability Studies

It can sometimes seem daunting to access academic sources but diving into the world of academic studies is a wonderful way of broadening your knowledge about disability studies. After three years at Harvard I’ve come across of variety of resources both those behind and without an institutional paywall. So, I wanted to share a few of my favourite free interdisciplinary academic resources for disability studies with all of you!

General Disability Study Resources

Canadian Journal of Disability Studies

One of my favourites! Easy to navigate and search.

Disability Studies Quarterly

Critical Disability Discourses

Journal of Disability Policy Studies

International Journal on Mental Health and Deafness

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Not strictly a Disability Studies resource, but it has some great articles on disability if you search!

Learning and Intellectual Disabilities Resources

British Journal of Learning Disabilities

Journal of Applied Research in Intellectual Disabilities

That’s my list of free resources I’ve used so far! When in doubt I always recommend trying google scholar and obtaining further access but registering with your local library and asking them about their available academic journal subscriptions!

2 comments

Leave a comment