College and Chronic Illness: Managing your Workload!

I’m currently in my Junior year at Harvard and have definitely racked up some experience dealing with Cystic Fibrosis here as compared to high school (though some things apply to both). I am sure I still have much to learn, but here are some pro-tips I’ve put together so far:

1) Talk to your Professors, TAs, Resident Deans, etc.!
Make sure that any authority figures, and anyone else who can help you, knows about your chronic illness ASAP! As soon as you sign up for a class, stay after and talk to the Prof! If you move into a new dorm get to know the custodians, they’re awesome people to know anyways but they’re also great resources. Essentially, be open about your chronic illness, educate people around you, and don’t be afraid to ask for help. Communication is key! Your school’s disability office can be a great resource in working with admin and getting your accommodations, but self-advocacy is your best resource in the world of academia.

If you fall behind on your workload due to illness here’s the chain of communication I generally go through: Send my TAs and Professors joint emails letting them know I’m ill ASAP, if I’m ill for more than a week I’ll reach out to my advisor to let them know, if it’s stretching out to 3+ weeks I’ll reach out to my resident dean. Keep people up to date on your health as much as possible, this is how you’ll get extensions!

2) Try to work ahead as much as possible at the beginning of each term and after every break.
Having a bout of illness and falling behind is just a matter of time. To be on top as possible, make sure to work ahead while you’re still healthy so that you fall less behind.

3) Put all major due dates into your agenda at the start of term!
When you’re sick time doesn’t always seem to exist anymore even when it does! Keep an eye on major deadlines throughout the semester. Make sure you know what dates are considered the FINAL deadlines for handing in work you’ve gotten extensions for. I’ve handed papers that were due throughout the term on the last day of the semester. It can happen.

4) Put your desk as close to your bed as possible!
I often work in bed, but find I’m more production when I’m actually at my desk. My desk literally touches my bed so that I can crawl out of bed and move to my desk chair. To get yourself in the “work zone” try switching into a clean t-shirt drink water!

5) Focus on what’s important.
Prioritize work that has a larger impact on your overall grade! You want to complete all assignments, but use your limited energy to focus on assignments that matter more in the overall scheme.

6) Don’t do all the readings.
By this I mean, learn to skim and know what’s important. I never read ever single page and paragraph that I’m assigned each week. I get assigned around 500-1000 pages to read each week and I manage that by focusing on major headers and skipping redundant sections. Also audiobooks are your friends! Check your local library to see if the books on your list are available as audiobooks and use that resource! Listening to books in bed is a huge life-saver.

7) Work when you can, even if you don’t finish.
Use moments where you’re feeling better to do any work at all, even if it’s administrative. Focus less on trying to “finish” assignments all at once and just try to get something done! Like, work on one math question out of twelve, do half an hour of research, clear out your email inbox, etc. It’s better to get something done rather than nothing, and eventually you can complete full assignments this way even if it takes a little longer!

One comment

  1. When I was in college, I had a lot of help with the disabilities department at my school. They wrote a letter that I gave to each of my teachers when I went to explain my illnesses at the start of the term. This really helped with classes that took attendance. It gave me some piece of mind to have something official.

    Like

Leave a comment